A Dream Come True

I usually can’t hold my own water so the last few weeks have been a struggle to hold back and not explode all over WordPress with excitement. But I have some really great news that I want to share with you. And now I can.

In my very first blog post, written in March 2012 when this blog was over on Blogger and called Heading to Hanoi, I said this:

Just like most people we (Gareth and I) found ourselves in jobs that neither of us particularly wanted to do. I have personally had a dream to become a travel writer. Maybe, just maybe, this trip is the key to that dream becoming a reality.

Since then I have traveled as a backpacker through Thailand, Laos and Cambodia, finally settling into city life in Saigon as a part-time English teacher and occasional blogger. Last year I met a wonderful woman, also an English teacher and blogger, called Kris Zimmer who invited me to be a contributor to her blog ZUPADream. Although Kris has now left Vietnam and is living in Canada, for her out of sight out of mind is not something she lives by. Kris was generous enough to encourage an editor of Vietnam’s biggest English language lifestyle and travel magazine, Word, to read my posts. So, to cut a long story short, the editor liked my stuff and asked me to write a piece about the HCMC Run event that I took part in on December 8th.

To revert to my Liverpool dialect; I was bloody gobsmacked! I couldn’t believe that little old me would be having my work published in an actual magazine. I have always enjoyed writing, putting the pictures in my head into words on a piece of paper or a computer screen has always come easily. Now, if I work hard and stay determined, writing will be more than a hobby, it will be my career. And that is a dream come true.

Yesterday the January edition hit the streets and with it, my article. I obviously had to get a copy immediately and photograph myself holding it.

My article and I
My article and I

If you would like to read it for yourself then click here and flick through to page 12. It’s called Conquering the Bridge. You will see my name at the end.

7 thoughts on “A Dream Come True”

  1. Wow. In print, that’s great! Well done for completing that run. I have a funny image in my head of everyone trying to run while there’s vehicles trying to get past. Crazy. That would never happen in the UK.

    1. Thank you Caitlin. It’s only just sinking in. And they have another piece they want me to write, which could involve a bit of travelling but most impotantly, is all about good food!!

Leave a Reply

